Ethnic Studies Faculty

Ibrahim G. Aoude, Ph.D.

Professor

Fields: Hawai'iʻs political economy, Middle East politics, social movements in Hawai'i and the South Pacific

Email: aoude@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 4000

Personal Website: www2.hawaii.edu/~aoude/

Office: George Hall 339

Office Hours:

T: 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Or By Appointment

Brian S. Chung, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Fields: Chinese Americans and Chinese diasporic cultures and communities, visual culture and cities in California and the American West, transnationalism, race and identity in U.S. popular culture

Email: chungb@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 5086

Office: George Hall 307

Office Hours:

T: 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Or By Appointment

Monisha Das Gupta, Ph.D.

Department Chair / Associate Professor

Fields: Migration, Social Movements, Asian American Studies, Intersectionality, Transnational Feminism

Email: dasgupta@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 2914

Personal Website: www2.hawaii.edu/~dasgupta/

Office: George Hall 306

Office Hours:

W: 3:30pm - 4:30pm
R: 4:00 - 5:00pm
F: 10:00am - 11:00am

Ulla Hasager, Ph.D.

Associate Specialist, Director of Civic Engagement for the College of Social Sciences

Email: ulla@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 4218

Offices: George Hall 305, Dean Hall 007

Office Hours:

George Hall 305:
      TR: 10:30 - 11:30am

Dean Hall 007:
      TR: 2:00 - 5:00pm
      F: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Noel J. Kent, Ph.D.

Professor

Fields: Political economy in Hawai'i and the Pacific, American ethnic relations

Email: noelk@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 6963

Office: George Hall 338

Office Hours:

M: 10:30am - 12:00pm
T: 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Or By Appointment

Roderick N. Labrador, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Fields: Filipino culture, history and politics in Hawai'i and the U.S., culture, race, ethnicity, class, diaspora

Email: labrador@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 6915

Office: George Hall 341

Office Hours:

MW: 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Davianna Pōmaikaʻi McGregor, Ph.D.

Professor

Fields: Hawaiian history, social movements in Hawai'i and the Pacific

Email: davianna@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 7068

Office: George Hall 336

Office Hours:

MW: 10:00am - 11:00am
Or By Appointment

Jonathan Y. Okamura, Ph.D.

Professor

Fields: Race and ethnicity, minority access to higher education, ethnic relations in Hawaiʻi, Japanese in Hawai'i, Filipinos in Hawaiʻi, Asian Americans

Email: okamuraj@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 4632

Personal Website: www2.hawaii.edu/~okamuraj/

Office: George Hall 340

Office Hours:

MW: 10:30am - 11:30am
Or By Appointment

Ty P. Kāwika Tengan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Fields: Identity, gender, indigenous theory and methodology, Hawai'i and the Pacific

Email: ttengan@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 5144

Office: George Hall 308

Office Hours:

T: 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Or By Appointment

 

Affiliate Faculty

Anthony Castanha, Ph.D. - Political Science (Indigenous Cultures)

Liana Petranek, Ph.D. - Political Science (Political Economy)

Warren Nishimoto, Ph.D. - Education (Oral History)

 

Lecturers

Sue Haglund

Email: haglund@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 2824

Office: Geroge Hall 303

Office Hours:

F: 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Teresa Hodges

Email: tahoges@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 5354

Office: Geroge Hall 304

Office Hours:

T: 10:30am - 12:30am

Clement Bautista

Email: bautista@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 7348

Office: Queen Liliʻuokalani Center (QLC) 309

Office Hours:

R: 2:00am - 4:00pm

 

Lecturers - Online Extension Courses

 

Graduate Assistants

Ruben Campos

Email: recampos@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 8348

Office: George Hall 337

Office Hours:

MR: 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Kyle Kajihiro

Email: kkajihir@hawaii.edu

Phone: (808) 956 - 8348

Office: George Hall 337

Office Hours:

W: 12:00pm - 1:30pm